She always had such great bangs.

8 01 2010

My childhood best friend got married when I was 19 and she was 20.  We might as well have been 12 as far as I was concerned.  I had just finished my first semester of college, and it was all I could do to get up at a normal time and remember to do laundry every once in a while let alone worry about another person.  But she not only knew she was in love, she knew this was the person she would spend the rest of her life with.  And the wedding was perfect.  She had a lovely dress and delicious food and everyone cried and she had great hair.  She always had such great hair.  *Sigh*  It’s a good day if I brush my hair.

And she’s always been that way – been my grown-up hero.  When we were little she taught me how to color during the sermons at church with a minimal amount of noise.  I wore her hand-me-downs until I got too tall.  I wore all of her Halloween costumes the year after she did.

Future-Domestic-Goddess on the left. Me on the right. Man, knee socks rock.

And as an adult she has kids and helps run a family business and has hobbies and does mission work and can hold adult conversations that don’t revolve around movie quotes and fart jokes (though I’m sure she could also hold the other kind of conversation if needed) and makes amazing cookies.  No really.  Like the best sugar cookies you’ve ever had.  And she makes them in to all sorts of incredible shapes.  She builds whole trees out of them.  When my mom got her PhD, she made sugar cookies shaped like brains.  And when I finally figured out that I might like to spend my adulthood with another person but didn’t want anything resembling a wedding cake, she made me wedding sugar cookies.  While I will inevitably never have fabulous hair, and when I do have children they will inevitably not be as well behaved and groomed as hers, I can aspire to her domestic goodness in other ways.  I can bake!

So, for this month’s Easy Bake Coven recipe, I got to take that sugar cookie recipe and trick others in to thinking I was a domestic goddess.  If they only knew that I just steal others’ genius.  And genius these cookies are.  Sugar cookies are pretty basic and standard, but the addition of sour cream in the dough  makes them extra chewy with the right amount of tart.  And the cream cheese frosting.  Oh I could eat tubs of that stuff.  So basically, I could have spooned globs of dough on a cookie sheet and they still would’ve been magic, but instead, I made these cute little things for everyone at work.

Because we have lots of mermaids in Norfolk.

Like over 100.

And we’ve got two at my library.  Aren’t we special?

And I made some orange elephants and Stars of David and baked some other delicious things and impressed my non-work friends.  Doesn’t that practically make me a grown-up?

But before I brag too much, I must admit that while passing out these little suckers to my coworkers I bit it after tripping over a library stool therefore breaking about a dozen cookies.  A domestic goddess would never trip.  And if she does, she would certainly sacrifice her body for the cookies.  I blame the unruly hair.

Actions

Information

One response

9 01 2010
Christina

Yum! I love the Mermaids (even though I got a sneak peek before this post). I’m sure your co-workers loved even the broken ones. Thanks for sharing such a sweet story about Laura! I’m so glad she shared her recipe with all of us.

Leave a Reply

